It’s 5 o’Clock Somewhere…

I always loved having an October birthday. However, being 20 years old for syllabus week sucked. I couldn’t go to the local bar with my friends. I couldn’t even sit with them during happy hour. Even if I was honest and told the bartender I was underage, I was told I couldn’t sit there. Even if I was just drinking water! Since my friend Kelley was also 20 for the first month of school, we would stay behind and wait for the rest of our friends to come back from the bar. (Thank God I was able to hang out with someone!) When I finally turned 21 on October 19th, I was beyond pumped. I was finally able to go to the bar, happy hour and just buy a bottle of booze like everyone else. My housemates and friends threw me a surprise party and overall it was a great night. My first “legal” drink was a Dirty Shirley, which is basically a Shirley Temple with vodka. That was my drink for a while, then it switched to Vodka Cranberry. Now these days, I drink Vodka Sodas, which taste great to me but they are deadly. I should really expand my palette to different drinks at some point.

When my friends and I went to Punta Cana, we stayed at a great all inclusive resort. It’s called the Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green located about 30 minutes from the airport. The resort itself was beautiful, the beach was clean and the people were nice. The buffet had a lot of options, but I personally wasn’t a fan of the food. A couple of the restaurants we went to on the property were fantastic. The waiters were pleasant and attentive for the most part. However, my friends and I really took advantage of the all inclusive booze. Even when we first got there, we were handed welcome drinks. It was like a mint green slushee drink, but it tasted good. We loved the idea of an all inclusive bar. We could get as much as we wanted, when we wanted…it was fantastic. I drank Mojitos for the most part, and they tasted very good. I would totally recommend this place for college kids who want to totally relax by the pool/beach for the week. If you want to drink a lot and party a lot, maybe consider going to Cancun.

A few of my friends got these special drinks in whole pineapples. It was a Piña Colada with extra Pineapple. I’m usually not a huge fan of frozen drinks but it tasted SO good. If you ever find yourself in Punta Cana or any tropical place for vacation, getting a drink in fruit is totally worth it. Not only does it taste great, but it makes a fantastic picture!

 

cropped-17352456_1629322723748924_5834327631280200075_n1.jpg
Piña Colada with Extra Pineapple Juice!!

 

Author: carafoodiethingz

I'm a recent college grad from Fairfield University located in Fairfield, CT. I've always had a love for food, cooking and baking. I love trying new things and exploring different types of food. I was encouraged to start a food blog by many people because I enjoy taking pictures of food and following food trends. If you have any comments, questions or suggestions, email me at foodiethingz@gmail.com!! You can also follow me on both my food and personal instagrams! @foodiethingz and @caracuneo19

Leave a Reply

